They came from the woods!

One more project involving old pewter… and some recent resin! Gather around young green ones.

They came from the forest. At first nothing can be seen. But then they start to move…

My fondness for middlehammer minis grow bigger and bigger. After Night Goblins, Lizardmen and Bretonnians, I decided to continue the journey through mid nightie’s models along the Project Dungeon. Rather than collecting full armies, I aim to collect themed little factions. These were collected with cohesion in mind, be it in painting but also in era and sculpting.

The Dryads of the Meadow Path. Collecting one of each sculpts was the hardest part. I tried to mimic the ‘Eavy Metal overall idea, but with my own technic. The red claws are really a signature here. Dark grey to light leather brown gave them some kind of childish drawing of a tree look. And it was good.

The Falquet forest Wanderer. The Marauder Treemen were such iconic pieces from the 90’ era. I couldn’t help myself but get inspiration from ‘Eavy Metal boxart again. And man they knew how to make a mini look great at the time.

The Shadow of Vovray. The two of them are making such a nice pair. I’m now tempted to collect two more just to switch their arms. It’s not like I already got some drawers full of lead, I can easily fit doubles in the painting line…

Ancient one Durthu, the deep voice of the forest. Mostly swears… One more emblematic sculpt! I try to paint its bark like birch wood. The bases are close to the one from my Bretonnia force, (just in case there’s not enough minis in it…) in order to play them as Nature faction in Saga Age of Magic.

And now the big one. Qwercus the tree wyrm. Note that he’s not from the woods, he’s made of it himself (as the rest of the troop, but that’s compared to your usual green dragons). An insanely good looking mini from the mother of monsters herself. This mini was gifted me by my beloved girlfriend last Christmas (and she just forced me to mention it!).

This one got a massive amount of details ans textures. Fun but also really long to paint. But now he can lurk in the Semnoz forest, scaring the hell out of the nearby villagers! More than one knight were never to be seen again after going for a quest, hunting the « forest that move »…

That’s all for this one, a cheerful lot of bushes and twigs. What I’m gonna do next? Maybe some more lead, maybe some big chunks of plastic… we’ll see soon.

Jean Peinture

8 réflexions sur “They came from the woods!

  1. Pingback: 5 on Friday 08/12/23 – No Rerolls

  2. J’étais pas passé voir le détail ici !
    ça fait super plaisir de voir des hommes arbres un peu différents, j’avais peint les miens beaucoup plus classique.
    Le dragon est absolument génial… je n’avais vu que la sculpture jusqu’ici, bravo !

    J’aime

Laisser un commentaire